Art Car Parade Houston


As promised here are lots of pictures from the Art Car Parade held in Houston a few weekends ago.

The Art Car Parade is an annual event in Houston, featuring a display of all types of rolling art. It’s the first and the largest Art Car Parade in the world. More than 300, 000 people came out to watch more than 250Β piecesΒ of motorized art this year.

My two cents on the parade:

  • Bring your most fun attitude and if you happen to own a crazy outfit then go ahead and put it on you surely wouldn’t be the only one.
  • Yes, it’s going to be hot so stop complaining and bring along some chilled beer and water. Oh and please put on some sunscreen.
  • Don’t panic you will find a parking spot eventually just go around the block a few more times.
  • Come along with friends this is that kinda of place where more the merrier.
  • And lastly don’t leave your camera at home.

My Favorite!!

My Favorite!!

Hats off to her for doing the track on that tricycle.

Lady with the poodle bag
Lady with the poodle bag

The dog seems to be contemplating his future.

Downtown Houston in the background.

Taco Truck

36 thoughts on “Art Car Parade Houston

  1. Wow what a great show. Thanks for sharing the pictures. I love your favourite – I think that would have to be mine too although the woman on the trike was great as well.

    • My pleasure Kerry. It was indeed a fun parade. There were a lot of people dressed up in fun costumes on skates or cycles. Unfortunately I couldn’t put all the pictures up πŸ™‚
      Thanks for your comments!!

      • I lived over at Westheimer & Lazy Hollow from May 1977 to April 1983 after graduating from Texas A&M University. I moved back to College Station in April 1983 and lived there until April 1993 when I came to San Diego.

          • I was trying to remember the name of the complex when I wrote that but couldn’t. I do remember that the Barbary Coast nightclub was located in our complex. It was a happening disco place in the late 1970s and early 1980s.

          • Well, I was looking up the nightclub online and it does seem to have existed but I couldn’t find out the name of the complex either. The nightclub was mentioned in an article in Houston Press, titled, “Wild on Westheimer” πŸ™‚
            Austin seems to have a namesake of that club now. Not sure, though if owned or managed by the same owners.

          • Got it! Westpoint! I went to Google Street View to get it. Looks like Barbary Coast, as of April 2011, was Supreme Martial Arts. I think my address was 2601 Lazy Hollow #510.

          • That is so cool!! Also thanks to technology, it does make life so simple πŸ™‚
            Thanks for stopping by and sharing your story that’s why I love blogging!

Leave a Reply

